Garden of Philosophy

Symbolizing the different religions of the world

Garden of Philosophy

This inspiring monument on Gellért Hill, by sculptor Nandor Wagner, consists of eight bronze statues. The five figures (Abraham, Echnaton, Jesus, Buddha and Lao Tse) around the center symbolize different cultures and religions from around the world. The others (Mahatma Gandhi, Daruma Taishi and Saint Francis) are people from different times and cultures who influenced spiritual enlightenment. The composition shows the development of human kind and aims for a better mutual understanding.  
Three complete sets were cast, one for Japan, one for Hungary and one for the USA. The statues presented to Hungary were unveiled in 2001.

Garden of Philosophy Reviews

  • Be the first to review Garden of Philosophy!
  • 0

Login or Connect to share your experience and help others plan their trip.

You are viewing: Garden of Philosophy
Posted in: Budapest Local Secrets

tags: buda side local secret panorama statues parks