Passport & Visa Requirements

Your passport is your ticket to Hungary - as of May 1, 2002 Hungary is part of the European Union, and everyone entering the country is required to have a valid passport. American, Canadian and EU passport holders can stay in Hungary for up to 90 days without a visa, as long as the passport is valid for at least three months beyond the visit.

More information on entry for foreigners to Hungary may be found at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs' Consular Services site.

Schengen Countries

As of December 21, 2007, Hungary is also part of the Schengen Agreement. The Schengen Visa has made traveling between its European member countries much easier and less bureaucratic. Traveling on a Schengen Visa means that the visa holder can travel to any (or all) member countries using one single visa, thus avoiding the hassle and expense of obtaining individual visas for each country. This is particularly beneficial for travelers who wish to visit several European countries on the same trip. The Schengen visa is a 'visitor visa' and it is issued to citizens of countries who are required to obtain a visa before entering Europe.

The purpose of the visit must be leisure, tourism, or business. Upon the issuance of the visa, the visa holder is allowed to enter all member countries and travel freely throughout the Schengen area. The Schengen visa and entry regulations are only applicable for a stay not exceeding 90 days.

Visa-free entry
Citizens of the EU/EEA member states and of the following countries may travel to Hungary without a visa and may stay there for a maximum period of 90 days:

Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Guatemala, Holy See, Honduras, Hong Kong (the exemption applies only to holders of a "Hong Kong Special Administrative Region"), Iceland, Israel, Japan, Macao (the exemption applies only to holders of a "Regio Administrativa Especial de Macau" passports), Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Salvador, San Marino, Singapore, South Korea, Switzerland, United States of America, Uruguay, Venezuela

Member countries
All Schengen countries are in Europe. However, this should not be confused with the EU (European Union). Schengen and European Union are two different agreements between European countries. A total of 25 countries, including 22 of the 27 member states of the European Union and three non-EU members (Iceland, Norway, and Switzerland) have signed the Schengen agreement and implemented the common border control and visa provisions, whereas several members of the European Union, i.e. Bulgaria, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania and the United Kingdom still do not participate in the Schengen cooperation. Participating countries are the following:

  Czech Republic

For more information on the Shengen visa you may go to the U.S. Department of State's Shengen Fact Sheet or to the website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Hungary.

You are viewing: Passport & Visa Requirements
Posted in: Budapest Information

tags: information