The Royal Districts of Budapest

Comment Posted by: Roberta Gyori

Did you know that several districts in Budapest were named after members of the Habsburg dynasty? Here is a quick look at the royals behind the names.

Terézváros (Theresa Town)

The Royal Districts of Budapest

Maria Theresa (1717-1780)

District 6 in Budapest was named after Maria Theresa in 1777, inspired by a royal visit in 1751. Maria Theresa was the only female ruler from the House of Habsburg. She was the sovereign of Austria, Hungary, Croatia, Bohemia, Mantua, Milan and Galicia, the Austrian Netherlands and Parma. By marriage, she was Duchess of Lorraine, Grand Duchess of Tuscany and Holy Roman Empress. She ruled for 40 years from 1740 to 1780. The most famous landmark in district 6 is Andrássy Avenue, with tenants like the Opera House. Budapest’s theatre district is also located here.

Józsefváros (Joseph Town)

The Royal Districts of Budapest

Joseph II (1741-1790)

Budapest’s district 8 also received its royal name in 1777 after Joseph II, son of Maria Theresa, Holy Roman Emperor, King of Hungary, Croatia, Bohemia and Archduke of Austria. Today, district 8 is an up-and-coming neighborhood in Budapest. Some of the most interesting sights of this district are the city’s palace neighborhood and the Hungarian National Museum. The best way to discover district 8 is to take a walking tour. Mikszáth Square, a favorite hangout for both locals and tourists is also located here.

Lipótváros (Leopold Town)

The Royal Districts of Budapest

Leopold II (1747-1792)

Extending from Deák Square to Szent István krt, the financial and business center of Budapest’s district 5 received its royal name in 1790, the year that Leopold II was crowned king. Leopold II, also a son of Maria Theresa, was Holy Roman Emperor and King of Hungary, archduke of Austria and Grand Duke of Tuscany. The most famous tenant of Lipótváros is the Parliament Building. Lipótváros is also home to the Hungarian National Bank, located in Szabadság Square.

Ferencváros (Francis Town)

The Royal Districts of Budapest

Francis I (1768-1835)

Francis I was crowned in 1792, succeeding his father Leopold II as emperor. Commemorating his rise to the throne, Budapest’s district 9 was named Francis district in the same year. A famous tenant of district 9 is Central Market Hall. One of the new cultural centers of Budapest, home to the Ludwig Museum, the National Theatre and the Palace of Arts, is also located here.

Krisztinaváros (Christina Town)

The Royal Districts of Budapest

Maria Christina (1742-1798)

Named after Maria Christina, Duchess of Teschen, fourth daughter and fifth child of Maria Theresa, the history of Budapest’s Christina district dates back to 1769. Up until that year it was prohibited to build houses in the foothills of Buda Castle for military reasons. Maria Christina lifted the prohibition in 1769. Ever since the end of the 18th century the people of Buda have called this area of the city Krisztinaváros. Today, Krisztinaváros encompasses parts of both the 1st and the 12th districts, bordered by Moszkva Square, Castle Hill, Gellért Hill and the Tabán.

Erzsébetváros (Elizabeth Town)

The Royal Districts of Budapest

Queen Elizabeth (1854-1898)

District 7 in Budapest was named after the beloved ‘Sisi’, Queen Elisabeth, wife of Habsburg Emperor Franz Joseph, Empress of Austria, Queen of Bohemia, Hungary and Croatia and a free spirited icon of the 20th century. The permit to name a district in Budapest after Elizabeth was signed by the emperor in 1882. District 7 is the smallest district in Budapest, known for the Great Synagogue and the once prosperous Jewish Quarter.

You are reading: The Royal Districts of Budapest
Posted in: Budapest Blog & Articles  Category: Arts & Culture

tags: history

Leave a Comment


*Nine + 2 equals (6 characters required)




Be nice

Only use regular HTML stuff like:

Allow 3 minutes between posts

* = Required field

You may also be interested in:

10 Facts You May Not Know About Budapest
10 Facts You May Not Know About Budapest

Read More »